Bowral Dressage Club Inc is committed to supporting our Young Riders and offers a number of initiatives to encourage them as they compete in the sport of dressage.

Young rider of the year award


This award is based on accumulated points scored throughout the year at BDC comps (be it official classes or closed unrestricted).  Champion and reserve prizes to be awarded.  The Club recognises the importance of  good sportsmanship and volunteering and in order to qualify for the award the Young riders need to volunteer at the club for at least two events. 


In 2018 Bowral Dressage Club worked hard to send a group of five young riders to the Youth Dressage Championships as a sponsored team. Thanks to the support of our generous sponsors including Woodside Warmbloods, Action Sports AnchorShowGirl EquestrianWilson EquestrianCapriole EquestrianMillview StudMichelle Baker Performance Horses, Robali Equestrian & McKinnon Sport HorsesGubbins Home Timber and Hardware MOSS VALEThe Little Hand Stirred Jam Shop and Southern Highlands Polo. All of our riders placed in the competition - from preliminary to medium and it was fabulous to witness their good sportsmanship, camaraderie and support for one another.

In 2019 we are looking to build on the success of last year. We are calling on all young BDC riders who have qualified for the 2019 Australian Youth Dressage Championships (5-7 July) to submit an application. To be considered for selection young riders must apply in writing to the BDC committee (click on the Application Form below) and applications will be at the discretion of the committee.  Applications close May 17.  Applicants will be judged on the following criteria –

o   Performance - both at BDC competitions and other EA events

o   Potential 

o   Assistance given to the club by way of volunteering

The sponsorship package could include contribution towards entry fees and club embroidered riding attire/equipment.

For further information please contact the Young Rider Coordinators, Fiona David or Katie Gubbins 

YR team 2018 Siec champs.jpg